Contacts Delegations

Give another user access to your contacts

You can give other users in the Commonwealth permission to access and manage your contacts. These users can add and update your contacts with information, for example, names, phone numbers, and addresses. Granting access to your contacts does not grant access to your email account.  

Important: You can only delegate contacts to people within the Commonwealth.

To grant another user or users access to your contacts, you'll both need to:

  • Be signed in to your work Gmail account.
  • Be on a computer, not a phone or tablet.
  • Open the Contacts Manager

Delegate your contacts

If you want another person to manage your contacts, share your contacts with them.

  1. Sign in to Gmail using your work or school account.
  2. Open the Contacts Manager.
  3. At the top left, click Menu Menu and then choose More > Delegate access.

    If you don't see Delegate access in the More list of items, ask your G Suite administrator to turn on contact sharing.

  4. In the Invite people box, type the name or address of the person you want to give permission to manage your contacts.

    You can enter up to 25 names, separated by a comma.

  5. Click Send.

The users you invited can now access your My Contacts group.

Manage contacts delegated to you 

If someone else in your organization gives you access to their contacts, you can manage their contacts from your account.

  1. Sign in to Gmail using your work account.
  2. Open the Contacts Manager.
  3. At the top left, click Menu Menu Delegated contacts, and click the name of the person who delegated their contacts to you. 
  4. While the person’s name is selected, contacts you add or edit appear in their contacts. You also see their contacts in searches and when typing in address fields (but not in Gmail, auto-complete, or other searches). When you click another contact name, other users contacts no longer appear.